Why I Started Lilly Lane

Hi, its Lindsay! This is how I feel after blogging at Lilly Lane for two amazing weeks! Follow me for more fun!

Hi! This is me, Lindsay! This is how I feel after blogging at Lilly Lane for two amazing weeks! Thanks to all of my supporters!

Whenever anyone starts a blog, they most likely have a target audience they want to read their posts. This audience could come in the form of a certain niche of people, active individuals that give feedback, or maybe even just their friends on WordPress. Today, I have been reflecting on who I want to read this blog and why I am writing the way I am.

I have always wanted to be able to share my opinions on issues and experiences in my life with others. My blog is my outlet to doing so in a more consistent fashion. It also keeps me honest in my feelings and thoughts about what goes on in my life. I hope to gain an audience of readers who also want to share honest opinions about life and are not afraid to engage in conversation about their opinions on issues that are benign or signifiant. Additionally, I want to write blogs for an audience that is engaged in the blogging community. I have always been willing to share my thoughts but have been overcome by my shy personality and relatively quiet voice compared to my friends and peers. Lilly Lane gives me the outlet to speak my mind and be creative without fear of being overshadowed by more outgoing or competitive people. My blog is a great opportunity for me to grow as a person and I hope that blogging will teach me about how to share the value of my voice and thoughts confidently with both friends and new acquaintances.

As my blog has only existed for a few weeks and I am the first one to say that I am still extremely new to the whole blogging routine and climate. What I hope to gain from my readers is an insight into what they want to read about from me as well as what posts work and what doesn’t so I can improve my blog and follow the learning curve. Originally, I wanted to create a space for women to come together and talk about their lives and experiences, but I have noticed recently that I have been having a male audience reading as well and I hope to expand my writing to encompass their interests as well.

I realize that blogs evolve over time based on personal change and new directions in life. I want Lilly Lane to evolve as I do, and this may include name and stylistic changes to the blog, but I hope to keep the content, post subjects and writing consistent in order to retain a reader base. With 28 followers in two weeks, I am considering my blog a success so far and I want to keep going with it. Lilly Lane is motivating me to stay to a schedule to post effectively and also to commit to this decision and learn more about myself and how to navigate blogging and internet realms better.

No blog is perfect, and I didn’t expect mine to be. Lilly Lane is a continuous work in progress, much like I am during my life. I hope that my readers understand that I look forward to any comments, be it criticism or encouragement, to develop a better blog for my readers. I blog for myself, but I also blog for my audience and will always strive to write the best posts I can to keep everyone interested and engaged in my life and opinions first. I want to take this opportunity to thank my 28 followers and loyal readers for being so supportive of me and my blog from the start and I look forward to learning more about each and every one of you! If you see something you like on here, please feel free to comment about it or reblog and share it around! The more, the merrier! Also, the more people engaging on my blog will make it a better blog community for all of you readers as well as me!

Lilly Lane is a community for growth, sharing opinion, and life experiences, and my goal is to keep it that way!

xoxo,

Lindsay

Leave a Reply

